Rescinding an offer when the candidate tries to negotiate

Quomodocumque

From the Philosophy Smoker, via Liz Harman:

CANDIDATE HOLDING OFFER:

As you know, I am very enthusiastic about the possibility of coming to Nazareth. Granting some of the following provisions would make my decision easier.
1) An increase of my starting salary to $65,000, which is more in line with what assistant professors in philosophy have been getting in the last few years.
2) An official semester of maternity leave.
3) A pre-tenure sabbatical at some point during the bottom half of my tenure clock.
4) No more than three new class preps per year for the first three years.
5) A start date of academic year 2015 so I can complete my postdoc.
I know that some of these might be easier to grant than others. Let me know what you think.

DEPARTMENT CHAIR:

Thank you for your email. The search committee discussed your provisions. They were…

View original post 76 more words

About victoriapynchon

I am the author of the A is for Asshole, the Grownups' ABC's of Conflict Resolution. I am an attorney, a mediator, an arbitrator and a negotiation trainer and speaker. I earned my J.D. from U.C. Davis School of Law and my LL.M in Dispute Resolution from the world famous Straus Institute of Dispute Resolution in Malibu, California. I serve on the California State Bar Association's Standing Committee on Alternative Dispute Resolution, am a Settlement Officer with the United States District Court for the Central District of California, am an arbitrator with the American Arbitration Association and mediate litigated disputes at ADR Services, Inc. in Century City, California. I blog at the Settle It Now Negotiation Law Blog and at She Negotiates where I teach women the fine art of negotiating what they want and deserve.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

